third time’s the charm…maybe…

6 Jan

So, 2012 was an ass-kicker. No other way to put it. Well, maybe there is, but I think “ass-kicker” says it all.

My job went from frustrating to frustrating with a side of intensely stressful topped with a dollop of incredibly unfulfilling. My health kept me on the digestive rollercoaster from hell and took me on a scenic tour of every bathroom in the greater Triangle, not to mention the occasional visit to the day clinic at Duke for fluids, and, oh yes, one particularly unnecessary expedition to the exotic land of Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

Just when I thought life could not get more miserable, the universe stepped up to my unspoken challenge. The end of the year saw someone close to me being diagnosed with cancer as well as the sudden passing of my boyfriend’s mother, simultaneously breaking the hearts of people I love and placing me in the  unfamiliar role of being the supporter rather than the supportee – a role I am not particularly good at.

So, as the clock struck midnight on December 31st, while millions of people around the world were singing the last bars of “Old Lang Syne” and belting out “Happy New Year”, it was all I could do to refrain from yelling “Get the fuck outta here, 2012!”

Needless to say, blogging, which had only months earlier been at the top of my list of things to accomplish in 2012, took a backseat to everything else going on in my life. Actually, that’s not true…it didn’t take a backseat…it wasn’t even in the car. The car was packed to the headliner with emotional, physical, and mental baggage and being driven by someone who, on her best days, was a highly impaired shell of person and a non-functioning conduit of nausea on her worst.

At any rate, 2012 is over. The world didn’t end on December 21st like the Mayans predicted, but my world changed overnight many times over. People will tell you that change is good, and while that may sometimes be true, they say it only because the scary truth is that change is inevitable and out of our control. Anyway, I don’t know what this year holds for me and mine, but I choose to be an optimist and believe that 2013 will be a year worth blogging about.

Leave a Reply

